Car Hire in Corfu

Corfu (or Kerkyra) is known as an "emerald green" island for its wonderful olive gardens. Travelling on the island by a hire car you'll see beautiful harbours with golden sand beaches and white rocks, sheltered bays with taverns that offer traditional Greek cuisine. Explore the Keri Caves and visit Water Village, one of the biggest waterparks in Greece.

The capital is famous for the Saint Spyridon Church, which houses the relics of Saint Spyridon, the patron of the island. Mount Pantokrator is the highest mountain on the island. At 917 metres, you can see fantastic views of central and northern parts of the island.

Corfu will delight you.

Disadvantages of public transport

It is not comfortable! The renowned “green buses” depart at 09:00 from the capital’s bus terminal, so you need to get there first. To buy a ticket from a vending machine, you need to be either fluent in Greek or very savvy.

Buses have a terrible habit of running past bus stops and stopping at random places.

In Corfu, public transport is a constant stress for travellers who are afraid of being late, getting the timetable wrong, missing the bus or buying a wrong ticket.

A rental car will never cause these troubles.

Expensive and cheap car hire

You can rent a car right at the airport from one of large car rental companies. It is convenient and safe but in no way cheap. Specifically, it is not the rental service itself that is expensive, but rather the “comprehensive” insurance and deposit (in case of damage, you risk up to €2,000).

You can hire a vehicle on better conditions at local rental counters. They offer rental prices lower by 15-20% with a deposit of just €200-400.

Optional services are also cheaper with some services being offered free of charge. On the downside, not all rental agencies can provide an extensive fleet or technical support during the rental period. You can find such agencies by your friends' recommendation or by reading signs, such as "Ενοικίαση αυτοκινήτων" or "Rent a car", and even by Googling — many agencies have a website, but mostly in Greek.

Which car to choose in Corfu

The island has many serpentine mountain roads with a medium-quality surface. If you rent a vehicle with a low-power engine and automatic transmission (AT), your hire car can stall when you drive uphill on a rough road. If you drive well with a manual transmission, opt for it. Or choose a higher performance engine. However, keep in mind that petrol is expensive in Corfu.

Which insurance to choose

Stones on the roads can cause damages to suspension and undercarriage of your rental car. Therefore we recommend that you choose the most comprehensive type of insurance.

Аренда авто на Корфу

Аренда авто на Корфу

Корфу называют «изумрудным» за дивную зелень оливковых рощ. Путешествуя по острову на автомобиле, взятом в аренду, вы увидите симпатичные заливы с золотистым песком пляжей и белыми скалами, уютные бухты, где прячутся таверны с традиционной греческой кухней. Посетите пещеры Кери и знаменитый аквапарк «Уотар Вилладж».
В столице славится храм святого Спиридона, покровителя острова. С точки Пантократор 917 (самой высокой на острове) можно увидеть и центральную и северную части острова – красота нереальная. Корфу восхитит вас.

Чем нехорош общественный транспорт

Он неудобен! Знаменитые «зеленые автобусы» отправляются в 9:00 с автовокзала столицы (до которого еще нужно доехать). Билеты на них продаются в автоматах, «общение» с которыми потребует от вас либо знания греческого, либо большой смекалки.
У автобусов есть нехорошая привычка - останавливаться совсем не там, где висит знак их остановки.
Общественный транспорт Корфу – это постоянный стресс для туриста: боязнь не успеть, перепутать расписание, пропустить автобус, купить билет «не туда». Автомобиль, взятый в прокат, таких проблем не доставит.

Дорогая и дешевая аренда авто

Аренда автомобиля возможна прямо в аэропорту у одной из крупных прокатных фирм. Это удобно и надежно, но не дешево. Причем, дорогой будет даже не сама аренда автомобиля, а «полная» страховка и депозит (сумма, которой вы рискуете в случае поломок – до €2000).
Даже в разгар сезона можно взять авто выгоднее, если обратиться к местным прокатчикам. Цена аренды у них ниже на 15-20%, депозит всего 200-400€.
Дополнительные услуги тоже дешевле, а некоторые и вовсе бесплатны. Из минусов - небольшой парк автомобилей и не у всех компаний есть тех поддержка во время аренды. Найти их можно по рекомендации друзей, читая вывески (ενοικίαση αυτοκινήτων или «rent a car») и даже через гугл – многие имеют свои сайты (правда, многие на греческом).

Какой автомобиль лучше всего «пойдет» на Корфу

На острове много горных серпантинов со средним качеством покрытия. Аренда авто с маломощным двигателем и коробкой-автоматом - риск заглохнуть при движении в гору по плохой дороге. Если вы нормально водите авто с механикой, ее и берите. Или уж – движок помощнее. Но помните, что бензин на Корфу дорог.

Какую страховку выбрать

Нередко на дороге попадаются камни, можно повредить подвеску и ходовую взятого в прокат авто, по возможности выбирайте самый полный вариант страховки.